Sunday, 30 April 2017

Marjorie Kellogg

Reviews | Bibliography & Rights Information

The Dragon Quartet | Biblio. & Rights Info
The Book of Earth
The Book of Water
The Book of Fire
The Book of Air

Lear’s Daughters | Biblio. & Rights Info
The Wave and the Flame
Reign of Fire
Lear’s Daughters (omnibus reissue)

Stand-Alone Novels | Biblio. & Rights Info
A Rumor of Angels
Harmony

REVIEWS

THE DRAGON QUARTET

For THE BOOK OF EARTH

“Dragon fans are really going to love THE BOOK OF EARTH….The dragon is absolutely irresistible. When he’s on stage, sparks of excitement leap through the pages. By the end of the book and the dramatic introduction of Water, you will indeed find it hard to wait for the next tale.”

Romantic Times

“Entertaining….Kellogg’s characters make a delightful quartet…neatly balances Erdes’s fish-out-of-time experiences with N’dock, a modern man who encounters real magic for the first time with a sense of awe.”

–Starlog

“From first page to last this is an excellent book. This book has magic, love, humor, action and dragons: something for everyone! This should appeal to all fantasy readers, young and old. I eagerly look forward to the other books in the series.”

Kliatt

“An enchanting fantasy, filled with adventure, villains, romance, and hope, not to mention a heroine with some spunk … The travels create a magical tapestry of intrigue and daring. The characters are delightfully evil and inspiringly good, a true fairy tale. Throw in romance, danger, enchanting valleys and desolate mountains, heart stopping confrontations and blissful pastoral quiet. It is a book of contrasts which weaves a spell over the reader. A must for all those dragon lovers of other writers like Wrede and McCaffrey. I can’t wait for the next.”

Voya

For THE BOOK OF WATER

“A fun romp with some creatively surreal moments.”

Locus

For THE BOOK OF FIRE

“A sense of immediacy and timeliness that’s unusually effective … an entertaining and pleasantly unusual sf/fantasy mix.”

Locus

For THE BOOK OF AIR

“Will appeal to fans of Anne McCaffrey and Patricia Wrede … an original take on dragon lore, this book’s appealing writing and sympathetic characters will please dragon fans. This final entry wraps up the series in a satisfying manner.”

Romantic Times

“A powerful work of sword and sorcery. All loose ends are tied up and all questions are finally answered so readers are left totally satisfied and gratified with this magnificent tale and the entire four-book saga that is so reminiscent of the Dragon Riders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey.”

Midwest Book Review

“Wonderful characterization … even the minor players in this grand drama have a real force and personality that comes shining through the pages. The Book of Air represents the end of an ambitious series, and I think Kellogg pulled it off quite well — even managing to throw in a pretty big twist I was not expecting at the end.”

Rambles

“An exciting fantasy tetralogy with all the right ingredients.”

SF Revu

Return to Top

For the LEAR’S DAUGHTERS duology

“”A powerful and complex cautionary tale as timely as it is entertaining. Grand-scale storytelling with personal immediacy, a good choice for most sf collections.”

Library Journal

“I loved Kellogg’s “Lear’s Daughters” duology … Kellogg does a marvelous job of creating complex individuals, male and female, within complex societies.”

Feminist Bookstore News

“A spellbinding duet of novels. I couldn’t put these books down.”

Susan Dworkin
author of DESPERATELY SEEKING SUSAN

“It was simply not possible to go on with my life until I knew what happened to Susannah and Stavros … her evocation of a loving people living on a planet at war with itself was totally absorbing. I loved the heroes, I hated the villains, and the right man got the right woman when it was all over. What else is there to want?”

— Marsha Norman
Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright of
‘NIGHT MOTHER

For A RUMOR OF ANGELS

“A thought-provoking sf tale.”

Kliatt

“Every once in a while a book by a new writer appears that demonstrates the maturity and skill of an experienced pro. This is one of them. Kellogg’s first novel opens brilliantly and … it is throughout better than average and quite satisfying….The story of the salvation of Arkoi is for the most part terrific.”

Publishers Weekly

“A most enjoyable read … cries for a sequel or three.”

–Robert Adams

“A new writer with a whole lot of talent.”

–Joan D. Vinge

“A fine delineation of an alien civilization … a well realized heroine … I hope this book is only the first of many to come.”

–Andre Norton

For HARMONY

“With gathering momentum, HARMONY achieves real power, the lived-in quality of an historic moment as seen by its participants. Profound questions about art, survival and responsibility are enlivened by the high spirits of the young Apprentices, and the equivocally magic doings of the Eye. Experience that future with Gwinn — she lives in interesting times.”

Locus

Return to Top

BIBLIOGRAPHY & RIGHTS INFORMATION

    THE DRAGON QUARTET 

  1. THE BOOK OF EARTH (DAW, 1995)
  2. THE BOOK OF WATER (DAW, 1997)
  3. THE BOOK OF FIRE (DAW, 2000)
  4. THE BOOK OF AIR DAW, 2003)
  5. OMNIBUS REISSUES (TWO 2-in-1) WINTER 2005
  • #1 in its 8th US printing
  • #2 in its 3rd US printing
  • #3 in its 2nd US printing
  • Omnibus #1 in 6th US printing
  • Omnibus #2 in 5th US printing
    LEAR’S DAUGHTER 

  1. THE WAVE AND THE FLAME (NAL/Signet, 1986)
  2. REIGN OF FIRE (NAL/Signet, 1987)
  3. LEAR’S DAUGHTERS (Omnibus reissue, 2009)
  • LEAR’S DAUGHTERS chosen as SF Book Club, BOMC2, and Scientific American Book Club selections!
    STAND-ALONE NOVELS 

  1. A RUMOR OF ANGELS (NAL/Signet, 1983)
  2. HARMONY (NAL/Roc, 1991)
  • Audio rights #1 to Audible

Return to Top