What Ho, Magic!

Next: Stealing Magic

Tanya Huff, the acclaimed writer of the Blood and Kigh series, is also a fantastic short story writer. What Ho, Magic! is a collection of fifteen of Tanya’s short stories: “I’ll Be Home for Christmas,” “Word of Honor,” “Shing Li-ung,” “First Love, Last Love,” “The Harder They Fall,” “February Thaw,” “The Chase is On,” “A Debt Unpaid,” “Symbols are a Percussion Instrument,” “Underground,” “A Midsummer Night’s Dream Team,” and four stories featuring Vicki, Henry, and Mike from her Blood series: “This Town Ain’t Big Enough,” “What Manner of Man,” “The Cards Also Say,” and “The Vengeful Spirit of Lake Nepeakea.” This is also the first printing of her new novella: “The Vengeful Spirit of Lake Nepeaka,” with an introduction to the book by Michelle Sagara West.


“Infused with Huff’s vivid characters, entertaining action and wry humor. A must.”


“Huff demonstrates how varied are her talents in this collection […] all of them are well above average in a genre that too often tells the same story over and over again. A collection of fantasy that should even please people who don’t usually like the form.”

Science Fiction Chronicle

“WHAT HO, MAGIC! is a strong collection of stories with a great deal of wit [...] even the lesser efforts are smoothly written and imaginative. Her stories are, for the most part, crisp, quickly paced fantasies [...] a pleasant way to spend an afternoon.”

Tangent Online

Awards & Accolades