Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances

Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances (#2)

Previous: Of Dragons, Feasts and Murders (#1)

From the author of the critically acclaimed Dominion of the Fallen trilogy comes a sparkling new romantic adventure full of kissing, sarcasm and stabbing.

It was supposed to be a holiday, with nothing more challenging than babysitting, navigating familial politics and arguing about the proper way to brew tea.

But when dragon prince Thuan and his ruthless husband Asmodeus find a corpse in a ruined shrine and a hungry ghost who is the only witness to the crime, their holiday goes from restful to high-pressure. Someone is trying to silence the ghost and everyone involved. Asmodeus wants revenge for the murder; Thuan would like everyone, including Asmodeus, to stay alive.

Chased by bloodthirsty paper charms and struggling to protect their family, Thuan and Asmodeus are going to need all the allies they can—and, as the cracks in their relationship widen, they’ll have to face the scariest challenge of all: how to bring together their two vastly different ideas of their future…

A heartwarming standalone book set in a world of dark intrigue.

A Note on Chronology
Spinning off from the Dominion of the Fallen series, which features political intrigue in Gothic devastated Paris, this book stands alone, but chronologically follows The House of Sundering Flames. It’s High Gothic meets C-drama in a Vietnamese inspired world–perfect for fans of Mo Xiang Tong Xiu’s Heaven Official’s Blessing, KJ Charles, and Roshani Chokshi’s The Gilded Wolves.

Advance praise:
“A darkly delicious romp full of ghosts, murder, dragons, and romance, with a couple that just keeps getting better and better as they push each other to new limits.” — Stephanie Burgis, author of Snowspelled and Scales and Sensibility

“Beautifully described, deeply caring, and satisfyingly murderous, it’s an immersive delight.” — KJ Charles, author of the Will Darling Adventures

Reviews

"This is a fascinating world unlike anything I’ve ever read before.... Romantic, compelling, and lushly descriptive, Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances is a great addition to your Pride Month reading list."

Punk-Ass Book Jockey

"I give Of Charms, Ghosts and Grievances five stars. It’s another novella you can enjoy as a standalone in a fantastic world with great characters. It’s a nice break between grand epic stories or heavy-themed thrillers. I recommend this to anyone who wants short fantasy and loves Asian inspired (specifically Vietnamese) stories."

Naratress

"It’s always a joy to be back in this world with these characters."

There's Always Room For One More

"As always settings were great and very detailed, most likely inspired by ancient Vietnam. I also found the magic to be creepy and fun, but most importantly I ended up loving the main characters even more than I did before."

Dear Author

"A slice of life story that seems like it’s going to be eaten by a hungry ghost, but in the end is almost consumed by someone entirely human and all the more dangerous for that."

Reading Reality

"We get more Asmodeus and Thuan, and all the delight that comes with Thuan’s increasing alarm at watching Asmodeus interact with children. The stakes are upped and the relationship slowly learns to communicate."

A Cup of Cyanide